Review: Slow Club – ‘Everything Is New’


Sheffield duo Slow Club, comprised of multi-instrumentalists Charles Watson and Rebecca Taylor, released their third full-length record, Complete SurrenderJuly of this year. So far, the album has spawned two singles, the urgent-sounding ‘Complete Surrender’ and the foot-stomping ‘Suffering You, Suffering Me’. The upcoming single is another gem from the record titled ‘Everything Is New’.

Speaking about the track, which was originally a B-side to a previous single ‘If We’re Still Alive’, Watson explains that it is a portrayal of his grandmother who had to reestablish her sense of self after the death of her husband. Appropriately, Watson opens the track with his mellow vocals against a minimal backdrop, establishing the track’s tranquil style.

However, the song soon lifts to the climactic middle section with the duo’s layered vocals, supported by a rockier band accompaniment presenting the turmoil of emotions radiated by the duo. Taylor reinforces her drumming skills – quite a sight during live performances – whilst accompanying Watson’s gutsy belting of “I know my digging, and I know my singing too”.

The pair’s harmonies have always worked well, but by this track, the second of the album, they have perfected their mix of melancholic, sultry and confident vocals against a powerful instrumental backdrop.

A stunningly emotive piece of music which shows off Slow Club’s true talent, ‘Everything Is New’ is by far one of the best songs Watson and Taylor have ever written.

5 stars

‘Everything Is New’ is lifted from Complete Surrender which is out now through Caroline Music.


About Author

English and Spanish undergrad, recent year abroader and aspiring vegan, blogging as hennacomoeltatuaje

Leave A Reply